stagetaya.blogg.se

Install freefilesync for linux
Install freefilesync for linux












install freefilesync for linux
  1. #INSTALL FREEFILESYNC FOR LINUX INSTALL#
  2. #INSTALL FREEFILESYNC FOR LINUX ARCHIVE#
  3. #INSTALL FREEFILESYNC FOR LINUX WINDOWS 10#
  4. #INSTALL FREEFILESYNC FOR LINUX SOFTWARE#

Here is the final error when I try to install webkitgtk manually (same when running "yay -S freefilesync"):Īutoreconf: configure.ac: not using Intltool I have this problem on three of my Arch Linux machines. I am new with AUR installs, so thanks for patience. Sure enough, issuing this command and rebooting the computer fixed the problem so that the time stamps on the files on both my hard disk and the external USB drive were identical, and FreeFileSync now works normally.I am having issues with webkitgtk (I think there is a conflict with webkitgtk-3 perhaps?) and wxgtk-git. Where the 1 indicates that Linux should use the local time (otherwise, 0 means to use UTC). One of these (thanks Mark Phelps!) indicated that the “rcs” solution was no longer available in Mint 18 and the answer to my problem was in fact to use the command: sudo timedatectl set-local-rtc 1 Having posted a description of my problem, I received several replies within a day. Here is where the Linux Mint Forums ( ) proved to be invaluable. But, alas, the change had no effect on the Mint 18 system. On checking on a different machine that was still running Mint 17.3, I found that this command was indeed part of the subject configuration file and so I had great hope that this would prove to be the solution.

#INSTALL FREEFILESYNC FOR LINUX WINDOWS 10#

More research on the web suggested that adding the command UTC=no to the file /etc/default/rcs would force Linux to use the “local” time from the computer (as used by Windows 10 in the other boot partition) and standardize the time stamps. For example, one file displayed as: Mon 08:37:28 PM EDT on the hard disk

#INSTALL FREEFILESYNC FOR LINUX SOFTWARE#

The same comparison had been made earlier under Mint 17.3 and, while the operating system partition had been rewritten in the software update, no changes had been made to the data files.Ĭlose inspection of the file listings showed that the time stamps on the files for the hard disk and the external USB drive were different by exactly four hours. The first time I tried the comparison function, prior to actually synchronizing the two disks, I found that every file on the hard drive needed to be synchronized. The way I normally use FreeFileSync is to do a two-way sychronization between the data partition on my hard disk and an external USB drive that is maintained solely for the purpose of backup. (A search in Google for “freefilesync logo” will surely identify a copyright-free image for such use.) Finally, press the OK button and the launcher will be displayed on the desktop. Finally, a left-click on the “spring” icon allows this default icon to be changed for another image. I use the Browse button to fill out the Command field and navigate to /home/toaster/Downloads/FreeFileSync/FreeFileSync (where “toaster” is my username for this computer).

install freefilesync for linux

I use FreeFileSync as the name for the launcher since this will be displayed underneath the desktop icon. So, I right-click the mouse on the desktop and select Create Launcher. I like to run the program from a program launcher on the desktop. Pressing the Extract button then unpacks the FreeFileSync folder into the Downloads directory.

#INSTALL FREEFILESYNC FOR LINUX ARCHIVE#

Double clicking on this file displays the included FreeFileSync folder in Mate’s Engrampa archive manager.

install freefilesync for linux install freefilesync for linux

However, when I attempted to install this package in Linux Mint 18 (Sarah) using the usual command to add the relevant PPA (sudo add-apt-repository ppa:freefilesync/ffs), I received the error message: Cannot add PPA: ”This PPA does not support xenial”.Ī little research on FreeFileSync’s web site indicated that directly installing the current Debian version of the software should work, so I downloaded the file FreeFileSync_8.2_Debian_8.4_. My main data backup program is FreeFileSync in both Linux and Windows.














Install freefilesync for linux